communal breakfast
03.19.02 - 8:30 am

What's better after a night of light drinking then a communal breakfast?

If you said �a morning of light drinking�, then you're right on my wavelength. However, we decided to go with the breakfast instead.

There�s something comfortable about breakfast. It�s like that ratty old pair of sweatpants that everyone has. It�s just something comfortable to slip into after you wake up.

Try on some waffles. See how this sausage patty fits you.

It�s also the one meal of the day where variety is the standard. Everyone gets their eggs a different way. The vegetarians want fake meat products, the meat eaters want greasy bacon, and some of us vacillate between, but we all eat together.

I brought my special omelet pan over to Nick and Bill�s sometime before noon. We made a quick jaunt to the local store to pick up supplies and then the serious business began.

Random friends and friends of friends began to arrive, each in search of differently constructed eggs.

Spinach and feta omelet
Onions and green peppers in scrambled eggs
Broccoli and Monterey jack omelet
Scrambled egg sandwich.

Since the hotplate (and thus our one cooking surface) has mysteriously disappeared from my apartment, I haven�t really done much cooking lately, but I was glad to see that my skills have not atrophied.

I made seven perfect omelets in a row. A new personal record.

I even made an omelet for the former ape-roommate's backstabbing girlfriend, proving that if nothing, I can certainly be cordial.

Breakfast is not the time for war and grudges.

There is but one king, and his name is Eat.

< Regress - Progress >


*host*
+guestbook+
*profile*
*index*

Last Five Issues

06.17.04 - Caio is not italian for food

04.20.04 - homeless?

03.27.04 - best of

03.07.04 - production report

02.04.04 - milk, not buttermilk

All text and images � 2001, 2002, 2003