lightining and fugazi
06.22.01 - 2:16 am

Outside my window, over the faint breath of the ceiling fan, quiet thunder creeps from angelic subwoofers. The strobing flashes of silent lighting break through my skylight and taunt me.

I can�t sleep.

Suddenly I�m in flashback of the outdoor Fugazi show in DC last year. How the rain threatened misery, but did not deliver. The thunder, drowned out by guitars, drums, screaming...

but the band would be upstaged on this night.

Delicately at first, and then with deliberate brilliance, the silent cloud-to-cloud bursts of lighting began to strike directly above the stage. All eyes now belonged to the sky as the musicians became the orchestra for a greater exhibition.

For a moment, the world seemed content to watch the silent trees of electricity stretch across the sky, pulsating as if they were the veins of god.

I remember how I sat there that night, in complete awe of nature�s beauty...

and I silently wished that it would reach down and touch one of us.

< Regress - Progress >


*host*
+guestbook+
*profile*
*index*

Last Five Issues

06.17.04 - Caio is not italian for food

04.20.04 - homeless?

03.27.04 - best of

03.07.04 - production report

02.04.04 - milk, not buttermilk

All text and images � 2001, 2002, 2003