crazy train
02.05.02 - 8:33 am

I think I'm sick, which I mention only with the appropriate dread attached.

It's probably some combination of the non-stop partying, the lack of sleep, and the cornucopia of bio-evil floating about in this city. The end result being that my throat is sore.

That's where it begins, just a simple sore throat. Then it spreads its raw infected wholesomeness all over my body, eventually reducing me to an achy ball of dribbling mucus.

Or, perhaps I just have a sore throat. I'm not taking bets.

Last night on the train, I stood next to an insane person. People often pretend to be crazy here as some sort of defense mechanism, perhaps keeping people away from themselves and thus propagating their own antisocial behavior. However, this guy was authentic.

He verbally rambled through all his ideas while constantly jingling a handful of change. One disconnected train of thought ran head-first into another as he pondered America, Camel cigarettes, time zones and the desert. In the spaces between thoughts, the change in his hand would stop jingling, as if someone pressed an unseen pause button.

The most interesting part was when he suddenly transformed himself into the host of the Jerry Lewis Telethon and started taking callers.

"Welcome back to the Jerry Lewis Telethon, we would like to thank you all for your generous contributions. Caller, are you there?"

It seems that he had a one-track-mind featuring an assortment of trains running in different directions.

I hope I didn't get my sore throat from him.

< Regress - Progress >


*host*
+guestbook+
*profile*
*index*

Last Five Issues

06.17.04 - Caio is not italian for food

04.20.04 - homeless?

03.27.04 - best of

03.07.04 - production report

02.04.04 - milk, not buttermilk

All text and images � 2001, 2002, 2003