she just loves my citizenship
11.30.01 - 4:16 am

One of the cutest girls in the school is leaving the country, and I am certainly going to miss her. Her visa has run its course and she must go back to her homeland before she can apply for another.

It�s so perverse that we separate the cultures of the world with beurocratic paperwork. I understand the practicality of keeping guarded borders...but she�s so damn cute.

Doesn�t that count for anything these days?

Tonight I sat in a bar I�ve frequented many times before, but this time I was surrounded by new faces and slight acquaintances, all in attendance at a going-away party.

I sat there and drank my beer as a man from Argentina argued politics with a man from Israel in a language that is not native to either country.

I was struck with the utter beauty of communication and how amazing it is that two different cultures from different parts of the world can find the intellect to argue in an alien tongue.

I still have problems stringing words together in simple English.

Before we were kicked out of the bar, the cute girl proposed to me

...and she was serious.

< Regress - Progress >


*host*
+guestbook+
*profile*
*index*

Last Five Issues

06.17.04 - Caio is not italian for food

04.20.04 - homeless?

03.27.04 - best of

03.07.04 - production report

02.04.04 - milk, not buttermilk

All text and images � 2001, 2002, 2003