avoided encounters
05.05.00 - 4:30 pm

I ventured out after work yesterday with visions of a shiny new belt across my waist.

Wandering around Broadway

soho

where ever

My illness growing with every step, my throat gradually eating itself as if I were holding some sort of streptococcus family reunion.

And at some point, out of the corner of my eye, I spotted him. There was no double-take. No moment of computation. I knew with one glance that it was him.

Sickly white skin stretched loosely over his bird-like face. Deeply pitted eyes, vacant and deliberate.

He was moving though the crowd, hunched and furry, loosely clutching a cup of coffee. How very "New York".

Some small sense of panic set upon me and I quickened my pace, trying to escape without the burden of eye contact. A million thoughts filled my head and I wanted nothing more then to avoid the liars game of "Oh, How are you?".

Nearly four blocks later, my brain was still a speedway of contemplation. My face still red from the fresh slap of all the frustration and anger I've repressed over the past year and a half. Even the subway ride home assembled into a montage of flashbacks and could-have-beens.

All these emotions flooded back in a tsunami of crude oil sludge, drowning the "sensible me" somewhere between the sharks and the shore. Somehow I always play it nice, I'm always the good guy. I remind myself that I don't hate him. I don't even hate what he represents. She was the shark, he is just water. Sometimes it's just difficult to face your replacement.

Alas, I will not have a shiny new belt this time.

But tomorrow is another day.

< Regress - Progress >


*host*
+guestbook+
*profile*
*index*

Last Five Issues

06.17.04 - Caio is not italian for food

04.20.04 - homeless?

03.27.04 - best of

03.07.04 - production report

02.04.04 - milk, not buttermilk

All text and images � 2001, 2002, 2003